Five STVM Students Receive Optimist Club Award
Date Posted: April 27, 2017

The Optimist Club motto is "Friend to Youth" and they allow every public and private high school in Akron to choose one male and one female senior to be recognized for their positive attitudes, community service and good character. Alexa Fryberber and Connor McIntyre were nominated by their teachers to be the two students from St. Vincent-St. Mary High School.

Senior students in Akron are also able to apply for the Optimist Club Scholarship. The scholarship winners have to attend the University of Akron and possess similar characteristics as the youth appreciation winners. The amount of the scholarship is $1,500. The Club only awards four scholarships, and St. Vincent- St. Mary students won three of them. The scholarship winners were Annie Unk, Ross Faetanini, and Isabella Difeo.

Photo ID Left to right: Alexa Fryberger, Connor McIntyre, Annie Unk, Isabella DiFeo (not pictured, Ross Faetanini)