The STVM Model United Nations Team SWEEPS the CCWA Case Western Reserve University Model United Nations Conferences
Date Posted: March 16, 2017

Congratulations to the STVM Model United Nations team, who swept the CCWA Case Western Reserve University Model United Nations conferences!

Our internationally-recognized Model United Nations team continued its winning streak at the Cleveland Council on World Affairs Model United Nations conference hosted by the Case Western Reserve University Model United Nations Team.

The STVM Model United Nations team received the first place “Best Delegation” award. Through their hard work, determination and the team’s success they made an unprecedented clean sweep of the Northeast Ohio CCWA Model United Nation conferences.

The team represented the countries of France, Belgium, Italy, China, Israel, Sweden, Netherlands, Switzerland, Saudi Arabia, United Kingdom, Kazakhstan and the Russian Federation.

The students researched and debated a wide range of real-world issues such as: Combating Global Terrorism; Issue of Small Arms and Light Weapons; Combating Barriers to Education for Child Refugees; Addressing Health Concerns in Refugee Camps; Promoting Mental Health; Green Energy; Promoting Sustainable Agriculture; Combating Marine Debris; Addressing the East African Refugee Crisis; Maintaining Cultural Heritage and Diversity; Oppression and Civil Unrest in Venezuela and The Issue Nuclear Non-Proliferation and the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea.

STVM Model United Nations team sent 19 delegates; making 11 delegations and winning 21 individual team awards. The team also invited six 8th grade students from the All-Saints Model United Nations team to participate in their first High School MUN conference.

The STVM team consisted of: Vince Glidden, Alice Mason, Alex Olivero, Mike Chmura, Mikey Dianetti, Ryan Thune, Alex Albanese, Caroline Pier, Cydnee Livingston, Fiona Gaffney, Olivia Janolo, Ryan Smith, Owen Presper, Madison Glenn- Lawson, Allison Tomaszewski, Alexandra Kiehnau, Alexia Peart, Olivia Gupta and Sierra Spoerndle.

The All-Saints MUN team members: Matthew Deanne, Mary Jewell, Jack Thomas, Maeve Gaffney, Rennick Best and Precious Rogers.